M:N Bindings For Actuators And Parameters Again

Hi,

I’m rather new to the MOD dwarf. Playing around with it since one or two weeks. All in all it is a great concept, being one of the few devices handling stereo. Being restricted to 1:1 bindings between knobs and parameters (Assign multiple functions to one footswitch? - #22 by diego and Allow assignment to knob on multiple/all subpages) is still something that decreases usability for me significantly. I know this has been discussed already a gazillion times. But given the fact that the old threads are inactive for more than a year, I though creating a new one would be okay and in the interest of a lot of other users. Must be an inside joke already like “Oh look, another thread about multiple assignments…” :wink:

I know, the “CV Macro thing” is there. But this is really just a workaround. I would like to put a stereo highpass at the beginning of my chain. I could either use the multi band parametric EQ (which is rather expensive CPU wise) or I could use the simple mono highpass. When I do the later using a CV macro I have “0…10V” on the screen instead of a frequency, which is not intuitive. Furthermore you have all those CV modules flying around on the pedalboard.

Vice versa: I assign a parameter to an external pedal and still want to be able to change the parameter when I don’t have that pedal with me. Or I want to mimic a “global knob”, a knob on each page that affects the same parameter, so I don’t need to select the specific page.

Instead of 1:1 binding It would be really important in my opinion to have n:n binding. There might be challenges, e. g. having different scales when assigning to multiple parameters to a knob. But even when you just pick stupidly the scale from the parameter first assigned it’s not worse than having “0…10V” on the screen.

Please, please implement this. I would make to Dwarf so much more flexible.

Is there any thread that discusses specific disadvantages?

Cheers
Timo

3 Likes