Upright bass body reverb

I have an acoustic fretless bass and want to make it sound like an upright bass - as far as possible. The acoustic bass is missing the sound of the big upright body. Adding a reverb plugin (experimented with Guitaix reverb) makes the overall sound a bit more “voluminous”, but that should go better.

What about a reverb IR from the upright body? Is this possible? Or is a “fake” amp simulator IR the way to go? I’m new to the IR world and don’t know what really can be done and where the limits are. Please direct me to the right direction.

Thank you!

2 Likes

3Sigma audio sells several IRs of actual double basses—different bass models (German, French, etc) for different sounds. I haven’t tried them but they sound convincing on the website. Better to use an instrument IR than a cabinet IR.

4 Likes

From the huge amount of plugins - which one would fit for such an instrument IR?

This one (which I use for acoustic piezzo guitar) :

1 Like

The description says: This plugin is specifically created for handling speaker cabinet IRs, this plugin is not optimized for handling larger files like reverb IRs.

On a 3Sigma video about the usage of their IRs they say that acoustic IR files are very large/long.

“Impulsive walkthrough” at 6:10
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXYoht8hAk8&t=8s

Their max length is 7200 Samples. The MOD Audio IR loader cabsim only loads 2048 samples.

1 Like

you could use this one:

here are some free IR’s from a Upright bass, don’t know how they sound as I haven’t use them.

6 Likes