Question: Switch between signal paths using midi footswitch

Hi all,

I have just picked up a second-hand KMI SoftStep (v1) to accompany my Dwarf (OS Version: 1.13.3.3256) and have started experimenting. This is my first time using a MIDI device of any kind so apologies if I am missing something obvious.

I would like to be able to switch between three mutually exclusive signal paths using a single pedal on the MIDI footswitch. The paths could be arbitrarily complex but in the example board I have created I have a “clean” path, one with the Roomy reverb and a third with the Shiro reverb. I am using reverbs as my test case since I sometimes want to include plugins with “trails” where simply enable/disabling the plugin directly is not desirable.

Initially I thought I would be able to use SwitchTrigger4 but this seems to want a MIDI button for each path. Having read the CV Macro Controls tutorial I thought I might be able to use the CV Switchbox 1-3, but it seems that the SwitchTrigger4 plugin does not accept CV assignments.

The ToggleSwitch4 does accept CV assignments, but the CV Switchbox 1-3 does not accept MIDI assignments, so while I am able to assign a Dwarf footswitch to switch between paths, I have not been able to do the same with a pedal on the MIDI footswitch.

I also thought about using MIDI or CV to switch between plugin presets, but again while it is possible to assign a Dwarf pedal it does not seem to be possible to assign MIDI or CV.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Paul

I’ve tried to find a workaround for your case, and could not find any good solution, actually.

Ended up with this overengineered abomination.

MIDI is assigned to “Control to CV” plugin, should recieve 127 for press and 0 for release.
It switches between 4 channels using one button. Make sure your presses are short.
Due to… things, it flicks between changing channels to some other undesired channels for a short moment.