MOD OSS - Will you help to improve it?

I’ve been musing on this for a whlle now.

Background: I’m an ICU nurse with nearly 30 years of prior IT dev experience.

I’ve contirbuted to a number of OSS projects in the past such as home assistant, yarn and rollup … it has always benefited me (and others)

I love the MOD ecosystem, the fact that it is OSS means I can tweak to support my gig’ing. My Dwarf is the main element in my pedalboard (Plus a midi pedal) … who would need anything else? lol

MOD have had some hard times recently.

There are a number of requests here in the forum for changes to the UI (and other stuff) and I feel they do not have the capacity to addres these.

Given the limited resources at MOD and their obvious need to focus on their proprietary firmware code and hardware (IMHO) I wonder if there are a number of us who would care to contirbute to making this the best platform on earth by contributing to the OSS elements of the system.

• I’m a techie and would love to help with MOD OSS development
  • I’m not a techie but I love MOD
  • Other

0 voters

14 Likes

great initiative, @SamIAm… i really hope the MOD folks are into it!

not sure your survey captures those of us who aren’t programmers, but who regularly build complex MOD pedalboards and are interested in deep testing and bug reporting… that would include me! :wink:

6 Likes

I think there is an overload of those and only a tiny minority of developers :wink:

Personally I am a dev, but I try to stay far away from front-end stuff and the one time I dove into some of the back-end I was quite lost. Of course I do applaud the effort to try and coordinate some additional development effort into the MOD software stack!

5 Likes

I’m a frontend web developer, would love to help out where possible. Don’t have a huge amount of free time but definitely feel like I’m missing some extracurricular web dev work.

6 Likes

A VERY good point, testing is essential to ensuring quality.