MOD DUO not detected as midi device

Hello!

I used to have my Mod Duo configured as a midi device on my Mac, using Ableton Live as the main clock for the sequencer plugins (Sync mode to MIDI, not Ableton Link). I followed these instructions at the time: Tutorial: Using Time Based Parameters - MOD Wiki

I haven’t been using my Duo for a while but I just noticed today that it is not working anymore; the sequencer is not running in Sync mode, only in “Free running”.

Since the last time it worked, I updated Live to it’s newest version (11) and I also proceeded with the latest Duo upgrades.

It is listed in my Mac Midi studio but is not connected and I am not able to activate it.

Unfortunately, I am not an expert in midi connections but I was able to set it up easily before.

Am I missing something here?

Thanks

1 Like

Hello @M_Ga,

If it’s listed in the MIDI studio all should be fine up to there. Have you checked in Ableton if you have the MIDI port for the MOD Duo accepting MIDI?

1 Like

Hi,

The DUO is not listed anymore in Ableton (it used to…).

I “refreshed” the device listing in MIDI studio and DUO does not appear anymore. I tried reconnecting the MIDI cable, rebooting, etc. and it never detects the DUO. (It is detected as a network device though)

1 Like

What is the OS version that you are running on the MOD Duo?

1 Like

Unless you manually activated the experimental multi-gadget thing, the Duo will never present itself as a MIDI device over USB.
The Duo X got that option on 1.12, and Dwarf had it on 1.11, the Duo does not officially support it.

For sending MIDI from a PC to the Duo, without the experimental features, you need a USB to DIN MIDI converter cable.

1 Like

Thanks for clearing it up @falkTX. I was wondering about that, but this week I don’t have a Duo around to check it.

1 Like

Version 12.6 Monterey

1 Like

Hi,

“Unless you manually activated the experimental multi-gadget thing”: just to make sure, where do I find this in the settings?