Getting started with LV2 plugin Compiling eg-amp?

Hello all,

I’m trying to get started with LV2 plugins, ultimately for Mod devices, but failing at the very early stages. So there is a blog post [1] and I got a good intro [2]. I’m working on an Ubuntu 20.04 machine and trying to compile that first example amp plugin in the lv2 source [3] using the command:

lv2-1.0.0/plugins/eg-amp.lv2$ ./waf configure

The build process is failing because it can’t fine lv2core which appears to be part of that download:

lv2-1.0.0/lv2/lv2plug.in/ns/lv2core

I’m new to this build process and can’t see how I tell it the location of lv2core. If anybody has managed to find how to get past that first step I’d be grateful for any help. Can’t find much

[1] https://moddevices.com/2016/09/08/create-lv2-plugin-part-1/
[2] harryhaaren: Writing Lv2 plugins : An Lv2 Overview
[3] http://lv2plug.in/spec/lv2-1.0.0.tar.bz2

1 Like

On Ubuntu just install lv2-dev package
Or alternatively, build the whole lv2 package from the root dir instead of a specific plugin, since those plugins come from the lv2 package.

Or, on a personal subjective opinion, skip raw LV2 which is quite low-level and go with something more high-level.
DPF is something I have made for such cases, where I want to create and port over plugins but don’t want to deal with LV2 core concepts all the time.
DPF integrates well with the MOD platform, you can find Nekobi, PingPongPan, Arpeggiator and a few others that were made with it. The Max gen~ stuff also uses DPF behind the scenes.
See documentation for DPF here, though docs are still WIP.

3 Likes

Thank you falkTX, I should have mentioned that I’d installed the lv2-dev package but that didn’t help at all, I moved to the Mod Devices build system documented in [1] and that has gotten me at least building a plugin so getting somewhere.

Thanks again

https://wiki.moddevices.com/wiki/How_To_Build_and_Deploy_LV2_Plugin_to_MOD_Duo

2 Likes