Examples for working with file system?

Hi guys.

Could you please point me into examples that illustrate working with MOD’s file system from LV2 plugin?
I was trying to find sources for midi player and audio player but strangely found nothing.

1 Like

You need only 2 things for this:

1. handle filepaths on an atom input port (quite a few plugins do this, lv2/plugins/eg-sampler.lv2 at master · lv2/lv2 · GitHub is one example)
  2. set the file type that this filepath accepts (MOD specific extension)

the last one is as simple as these changes 01-filetypes.patch

available file types are listed in mod#fileTypes

3 Likes

Thank you for your answer, but exampler seems to use predefined list of filenames, and does not seem to illustrate how to list files or folders that can be uploaded, how midifile player plugin does.

I need to apologize in advance, I am a complete newbie in lv2 development at this point, and not even sure if my final goal is even achievable, still struggling with basics.

Probably I need to explain what I am hoping to do in the end, maybe you can give some advice, as I might not know enough to ask proper questions.

There is a guitar pedal out there, called “BeatBuddy”, it is a drum machine for guitarists, that allows playing drum loops, switching between song parts via a single footswitch. (Long press - start playing song or switch to next part loop, single tap - play fill corresponding loop, double tap - play outro and stop).

Considering that MOD already has plugins to produce drum sounds from midi input, I hope that I can make a plugin that will attempt to mimic BeatBuddy’s behavior, (let’s say, MeatMuddy, lol) but produce midi output instead of sounds, and use custom-uploaded midi loop sets from the MOD file system arranged in a way approximately as below:

• midi-loops
    • SONG1_BLUES_IN_120bpm
      * Intro.mid
      * Part_1.mid
      * Part_1_fill.mid
      * Part_2.mid
      * Part_2_fill.mid
      * Outro.mid
    • SONG2_FUNK_IN_130bpm