Bass compression?

Hi all. I have one pedal left that I haven’t replaced with a virtual pedal in the MOD. It is an MXR bass compressor. I’ve tried fiddling with built-in compressors and they don’t exactly behave the way I want. They seem to deaden my tone more than the MXR pedal does. I don’t know how the MXR works, but I suspect that they may be applying some eq to either the dry or wet channel.

Is anybody here using compression in the MOD for bass?

5 Likes

Hey, here’s how I do it:

Input —— comp 1 —— x-over ——— comp 2 ———— Out
                      \_____ FX ______/

Comp 1 is soft, just to smooth out the bumps
X-over set around 200Hz
Comp 2 is a hard limiter, just slamming the sub bass
FX run most of my effects, keeps the fundamentals intact

I don’t have the MOD here so I can’t share exact numbers, but hopefully this inspires you

8 Likes

I’m only getting started in understanding how best to use compression, but here’s my current bass pedalboard. I’m happy with the sound for now, but I am always tweaking. I will say that I’m still getting used to the idea that things I play more softly are louder than I expect. I’m used to having built-in compression on my preamp (Eden WT-500 and Eden WTDI), which is usually not nearly as noticeable. For this board, I downloaded some Eden Nemesis 4x10 IRs.

4 Likes

Bob, the most significant parameter for keeping your bass tone feeling more lively is the attack time - set it long so more of the transient gets through before the comp kicks in. I’ll have a rummage before or next lesson and dig out some suggestions from the MOD store :blush:

7 Likes

What goes into the 2nd input - dry bass, preamp? Interesting set up with amp sim on one input and reverb+cab sim on the other.

2 Likes

Any time-based effects can go in-between. I tend to default to splitting things between the 2 channels. In most cases, I end up “jumpering” out 1 to in 2, because I don’t really use many effects for bass. Habits :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like